The Startup Gurus or In Defense of Jason Calacanis

Last week, in an attempt to make a point, and in a lame attempt at humor, while making said point, I took cheap, but funny, at least funny to me, but probably not quite as funny to Jason, shots at Jason Calacanis. Let me apologize for one thing, as Startup Gurus go, Jason Calacanis is one of the best. The reason I took issue with Jason in that blog was questioning the value of a $500, four-hour meeting promoted to teach people how to become professional angel investors (see post here). Jason good-naturedly engaged in the dialogue and showed his metal. He displayed a sense of humor, a sense of self, he acted consistent with his public display of ego. He didn't cower and pretend he was above criticism. He defended himself and didn't block the messenger. The difference between a Jason Calacanis and phony Startup Gurus like Jonathon Perrelli is that Jp's self-image doesn't match his public display of ego. He knows he's a fraud. He knows his actions are indefensible so instead of engaging and responding to criticism he closes his ears. Jason's value includes his network of contacts, success in investing, and thoughtful content which makes Jason the real deal while the...

Bobby Ocampo and Blueprint Equity

When I wrote the post, Angel And Venture Capital Are Broken – Part II, I highlighted two innovative variations of traditional Venture Capital, Proof Fund and Private Access Network. Then a few months later, I sat down with Bobby Ocampo of Blueprint Equity. Bobby introduced me to yet a third variation, that of his new fund Blueprint Equity. If you're from DC and you live in a hefty bag (basically that means those of you who get your DC Startup news from the Technically.DC and DCinno, the startup equivalents to getting your world news from Fox News), you probably don't know Bobby Ocampo. So let me catch you up on stuff that doesn't come from some inane, Jonathon-Perrelli-esque, self-promotional, press release. Bobby did 3 years at a Venture Capital firm, Grotech, followed by five years at Revolution. You all know Revolution right? Because even Technically DC and DCInno can spell Steve Case and Revolution Ventures. According to SEC Filings, Blueprint Equity raised $54 million dollars of a $75 million dollar fund. What makes Blueprint Different than other funds located in C besides the fact that Bobby just picked up and moved to San Diego? Got that, Mr. Ocampo left town and opened up shop in San Diego....

executive coaches - whoopass

WhoopAss Thankfulness

On this Thanksgiving, I'm thankful for WhoopAss I'm thankful for: All the turds who have allowed me to blow off steam by opening a can of WhoopAss on them, especially Danny Boice, Jenifer Mellon, Evan Burfield and many more. For that lovely Demand Letter that loser Boice from Dumpster Fire Trustify sent me and all the fun my readers and I derived from that. I'm also very thankful that Boice couldn't afford a decent attorney! Thank you! For my readers and fans who feed me tips and information For all the authentic business people who are building real businesses and not working on the intersection of this and that thinking outside the box creating kickass communities disrupting the world innovating innovative inventions creating highly-segmented uber-nichey identity communities that exclude intelligent people of high character because they are the wrong, religion, ethnicity, national origin and emphasizing our differences in place of promoting inclusion (okay, maybe I'm just whining because there isn't a meetup for Cranky Old White Dudes and I feel slighted) Most of all I'm thankful for my clients, friends, and family In Celebration of my thankfulness, I'd like to highlight some of the folks who I've presented with unopened cans of WhoopAss...

PeekAnalytics Washington Investors on Twitter

PeekAnalytics latest 1,000 TECH INVESTORS ON TWITTER Two new investors jumped into the PeekAnalitics list including a jump from nowhere to 144 by Tien Wong and Jonathan Aberman’s addition to the list.  Here’s the DC Area investors that made the list. Rank Previous Rank   Name Twitter 23 24   Steve Case  @stevecase 144 NR   Tien Wong  @tienwong 179 170   Ted Leonsis  @TedLeonsis 228 241   Paul Singh  @paulsingh 457 515   Jonathon Perrelli  @perrelli 525 494   Sean Glass  @seanglass 608 623   John Backus  @jcbackus 642 686   Glen Hellman  @glehel 711 694   Don Rainey  @drainey1 741 733   Tige Savage  @tigesavage 845 908   Thanasis Delistathis  @tdelistathis 848 NR   Jonathan Aberman  @jaberman ...