Ross Blankenship Reviews

We’re going to examine some Ross Blankenship reviews. You remember Ross Blankenship… right? He’s the self-described, Angel King. A man that portrays himself very differently than how the world perceives him.

Let me be clear. Ross Blankenship who runs the so-called, Angel Kings is a fraud. He’s no King of the Angels. He’s not even the king of thieves… he’s a minor petty huckster. He’s had multiple spectacular professional failures and no visible professional successes. Prior to starting his lastest total scam, Angel Kings, Ross Blankenship was a total failure in the rold of startup CEO of a failed joke of a company Study Hall, which he boasted would challenge Blackboard… this poorly executed, unoriginal idea didn’t even challenge Jonathon Perrelli’s, LifeFuels. Before that, he ran a test prep company… another well-documented trash heap of a company.

Ross Blankenship has been trying to find anything that he can do well. So far it appears that he is best at pretending to be successful, writing about pretending to be successful, writing about pretending to be a successful writer and sucking at all things of value. This clown has failed at every business in which he’s ever been involved. I never thought it was possible that anyone could have worse Glassdoor reviews than Danny Boice and Jen Mellon at Trustify (see reviews). Ross Blankenship reviews prove me wrong.

Some quotes about him when he ran a Test Prep Company:

Dishonest

This place is a scam

Definitely a SCAM

Horrendous Workplace

Mismanaged

Horrible Management

Incredibly unprofessional

You don’t get an F rating from the BBB for nothing

That’s right… you don’t get an F for nothing old Rossy Boy. You earned that grade! What follows are Ross Blankenship Reviews from Glassdoor. If you want to see the reviews that Ross submitted himself, in other words, the 5-star reviews, you can find them here. These are all the 1-star reviews of his past business Top Test Prep… the Angel Kings of academia:


Glassdoor Reviews for Top Test Prep


 

Date:  May 19, 2017
Review: “Mismanaged”
Former Employee – Anonymous Employee
Doesn’t Recommend
Negative Outlook
Disapproves of CEO
I worked at Top Test Prep full-time

Pros: There was a fun office environment, and it was great getting to help students.

Cons: CEO micromanaged. BEWARE. Lots of promises to clients & employees with little or no delivery. Disputes with tutors and clients were ignored or bowled over.

Advice to Management: Follow a business plan and nurture stable relationships with your employees.


Date: Oct 29, 2015 Helpful (4)
Review: “Dishonest Company All-Around”
Former Employee – Anonymous Employee
Doesn’t Recommend
Disapproves of CEO
I worked at Top Test Prep part-time

Pros: Opportunity to wear a lot of hats and do different things for the company.

Cons: Echoing a lot of what was said here before – the company is dishonest in it’s product, how it treats it’s employees, and how the CEO behaves.
Despite how it is marketed, the product is not customized at all. It is an out-of-the-box test prep experience that is in no way tailored to individual students. When I brought this up with the CEO, he shrugged it off.

Much like other people, I experienced Ross refusing to send me my last paycheck or honoring bonuses. He then ignored all attempts to get in touch with him. I would not recommend using or working for this company.


Date: Mar 18, 2015
Review: “Horrendous Workplace, Inept Management”
Former Employee – Sales Associate in Washington, DC
Doesn’t Recommend
Negative Outlook
Disapproves of CEO

Pros: Test your personal limit for workplace abuse. How long can you go without verbally snapping back at incompetent management?

Cons: This place is a scam. They don’t actually interview their tutors or ensure that their tutors meet certain GPA/test score requirements; they don’t provide any kind of on the job training or prep — you’re expected to be a pro at sales immediately (despite what position you were hired for), and if you’re not immediately slick, you’re fired. Parents and potential students, you would be better off buying a book from Barnes and Noble and Amazon.
Show More

Advice to Management: Learn to run a business before you try to start a business.


Date: Dec 24, 2014
Review: “One Star Too Many”
Former Employee – Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
Doesn’t Recommend
Negative Outlook
Disapproves of CEO

Pros: The employees are great and they are loyal to a fault, which is more than the CEO deserves, as he is a horrifying nightmare.

Cons: There are surveillance cameras pointed at employees; the CEO is manic, completely unpredictable and scary; payment of salary is not guaranteed; not one moment of training is provided; no matter what job is offered, one ends up doing cold-call sales. I just cannot say anything good — it’s everything one fears in a job, rolled into one

Advice to Management: Learn how to run a business before starting a business. Maybe try working somewhere else first. Just anything would be better than how you’re doing it.


Date: “Incredibly unprofessional”
Former Employee – Anonymous Employee
Doesn’t Recommend
Negative Outlook
Disapproves of CEO
I worked at Top Test Prep part-time (Less than a year)

Pros: They were friendly during the interview process, and speedy about letting me know I was hired.

Cons: They repeatedly offered me clients who were driving distance away, when I mentioned in the first interview that I did not have a car. They then ceased all contact, despite multiple emails from me checking in. This, several weeks into the summer, when I had been relying on this job I had been granted in March, and too late to find other employment. If they absolutely needed someone with a car, they shouldn’t have hired me in the first place; if they decided they simply didn’t want to work with me, they should have at least had the courtesy to tell me. Incredibly unprofessional.

Advice to Management: Act like a real business. Don’t hire people who don’t meet your needs, don’t promise work that you’re never going to give, and at least have the manners to respond to your employees.


Date: May 2, 2014
Review: “Poorly Managed”
Former Employee – Anonymous Employee
Doesn’t Recommend
Negative Outlook
Disapproves of CEO
I worked at Top Test Prep full-time (Less than a year)

Pros: The tutors are very smart and the students are usually great kids.

Cons: It’s a small company with high turnover. There is very little institutional knowledge about the product, industry, or business model. Very little training is provided but the CEO expects a smooth transition. The company is spread too thin with too many projects that don’t align with the company’s strengths. Instead of nurturing the current business model and growing strategically, the CEO pursues half concocted ideas that drain financial and labor resources. The product/service also needs upgraded to command the price the CEO wants.

Advice to Management: Sell the company or downsize. You are not capable of running the current operation.


Date: Feb 13, 2014
Review: “Definitely a SCAM”
Former Employee – Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
Doesn’t Recommend
Negative Outlook
Disapproves of CEO
I worked at Top Test Prep full-time (Less than a year)

Pros: Work here if you want to set your a career back a few years.

Cons: The CEO is completely bipolar. He would change his mind about major decisions from one day to the next and act like he had completely forgotten what had been discussed. The entire company is based on lies – to customers as well as to employees. You don’t get an F rating from the BBB for nothing. The company claims that all it’s tutors are from the top 1% scorers but this couldn’t be further from the truth. They say whatever it takes to get the potential customer to put down money and once they get the money you will never see it again. Also, regardless of your reason for leaving the company, you can be certain that you will not receive your last paycheck. The turnover at this company is so high that between the time I accepted the offer and the time I started, every single person at the office had been replaced except for one.

Advice to Management: Deceit and chicanery will only get you so far. Sooner or later it will catch up with you unless you change your ways.


Date: Feb 4, 2014
Review: “This place is running a scam.”
Former Employee – Anonymous Employee
Doesn’t Recommend
Negative Outlook
Disapproves of CEO

Pros: None. There’s a dog in the office. How unprofessional.

Cons: The programs are not “customized’ to each student — there is a just a stock set of lesson plans and tutors pull from these for every student. The books used are those that you can get at any bookstore — the company has no proprietary materials, except a vocabulary list identical to those found in the prep books.

They have clients sign the contract that states no refunds AFTER they have processed the payment. This type of illegal activity is why I left the company.

It could have been a good place to work, but they should really include that everyone will be doing phone sales to sell a product that people in the office don’t even believe is worth it.

Advice to Management: Stop lying to clients. Also, Cornell is the second worst of the Ivy leagues. Stop bragging that you went there.


Date: Jan 19, 2014
Review: “Very Uninspiring Atmosphere”
Former Employee – Anonymous Employee
Doesn’t Recommend
Negative Outlook
Disapproves of CEO
I worked at Top Test Prep full-time

Pros: Working with my immediate supervisor was great. I learned quite a bit about management and sales from her. If it weren’t for the CEO, I would have loved to keep working for her. Her dog was awesome too.

Cons: The quality of programs is not worth what they charge here; there’s a harsh no refunds policy that gives off the feel of a scam; and the CEO is dishonest and greedy and also lacks management and basic people skills. There were no pay raises/offers of pay raises, no Christmas bonuses, and the sales bonuses promised back in September did not materialize because he claims he “doesn’t remember promising those.” People rarely end up working in the position that they were hired for, with the result that they are not a great fit for the job and somehow this is their fault. It’s a hostile work environment and it became increasingly worse as time went on.

Advice to Management: There is something shady happening here, and without transparency and better treatment of staff, this company is not going to last much longer.


Date: Jan 7, 2014
Review: “Bad Leadership and a Hostile Work Environment”
Former Employee – West Coast Sales Associate
Doesn’t Recommend
Neutral Outlook
Disapproves of CEO
I worked at Top Test Prep full-time (Less than a year)

Pros: Immediate supervisor was funny, and having a dog in the office was able to relieve the high levels of stress sometimes.

Cons: Working with the CEO was nearly impossible; Job duties were constantly reorganized, there was no training on the job, but we were expected to pick up and be great at the job immediately. When I turned in my resignation to pursue a position that presented a great opportunity for my career growth, I was met with hostility from the senior management and told to leave immediately. When I asked for my last paycheck, I was laughed at.

Advice to Management: Treat your employees with respect, provide on the job training, and be transparent about the job description.


Date: Nov 23, 2013
Review: “Very negative atmosphere”
Former Employee – Anonymous Employee
Doesn’t Recommend
Disapproves of CEO
I worked at Top Test Prep full-time (More than a year)

Pros: Working with students and schools

Cons: Working with CEO and negativity of management and policies


USA Complaints.com

See original review here


employed leading test-prep to assist us through university admissions proces for my daugther. Not even close to assisting us “understand” the procedure, Ross Blankenship, the founding father of the organization was only a glorified composition publisher. There is no complete strategy, objectives collection, schedules or assistance. The entire encounter was really disorganized with Ross lacking several pre-planned telephone call and never keeping people within the cycle. Actually, understanding we’d an earlier choice software to publish, he was totally unavailable and outoftouch in the last second and we’d to submit the applicaiton and composition without him actually researching it. Issues just went downhill there after. I’d taken care of him to work well with us on 5 colleges so when I published to state my discontent within the support I obtained and also to request if he might cost me on an hourly basis for that support he seems he’s made and also to return the distinction, Ross declined and stated it had been against business plan. We were caught because the cost was produced by googlecheckouot (low disputable) and needed to try to create the very best of the problem. Centered on our ED software catastrophe with Ross, I requested again to get a plan therefore there’s no mis communication and again received none. This resulted in more mayhem as well as in the finish, we got about 5-6 hours his period for $6500. Probably the most costly and least helpful support and also the worst experience ever.


1-star Yelp Reviews

find yelp listing here


2/4/2015 -Top test prep has been extremely unprofessional. I have had direct experience as a tutor with payment issues as well as heard from my clients about their horrible refund policy and shady business practices.

I know currently of multiple tutors who haven’t been paid in the past 4 months and multiple clients who are out thousands of dollars as TTP ran off with their money. The company has been unresponsive to emails, phone calls, and any form of contact.

This company will get sued soon. No-one should sign up for their programs or their new venture-Study Hall


3/9/2018 – The company doubles as a front for a “Angel investing” company. It’s currently under litigation for not paying any of its tutors or staff and the founder Ross Blankenship is a notorious con artist. They overcharge for tutoring and they have no actual expertise in any admissions or test prep.


12/27/2014 – My daughter signed up for the $9600 package for 40 hours of one-on-one tutoring, primarily for the SAT. The tutor was nice but did not know how to teach–he worked the problems but did not make her do much. Anyway, although they almost guaranteed a gain of 250 points, her scores changed not at all, not one point in math or reading. Before we knew those final scores, we asked verbally for another three hours of prep time during the two weeks before the third test date. We paid $500 for that. The tutor never found the time to meet with my daughter during those two weeks, and then we got the scores. I asked many times for a refund of the $500 but never got a response. Lesson: be sure to get the hours of tutoring time in writing. So, for $10,100 we got exactly nothing.


8/25/2014 – I wish I could give this program less than 1 star. I was preparing to take the MCAT a second time and was looking for a one-on-one tutoring program, I had read decent reviews about this company and felt that it was my best option. Of course I was sucked in one I spoke to one of the employees. In order to afford the course I had to borrow money from multiple individuals, and now after receiving my scores I really wish I would have stuck with Kaplan. My tutor was often late or failed to show to our sessions, and he was studying for his medical school boards which ended up putting my own studying to the back. With 3 weeks left to my test my tutor told me we would have to end our sessions early since he was taking his boards and would not be around. I was nervous to switch tutors at this point and decided to stick in out. I was only contacted once by the company throughout my tutoring and never even received the books they had promised. This company is a joke and a HUGE waste of money. I am now scrambling to not only pay the money back to those that I borrowed from but working to make a total career change since my scores are not high enough to get into an MD school. I admit, I am not the best tester but this program promised that it would work specifically on my test taking skills as I already had much of the content knowledge. Again, I advise you to choose a different course.


10/2/2011 My family had a very unhappy experience with Top Test Prep, so we would not recommend anyone use their services. We enrolled our daughter in a TTP program, but then her school schedule changed so she could not attend the sessions. TTP refused to give us a refund of our fees, despite the fact she never even attended one tutoring session. Moreover, TTP never even told us about their no refund policy when we first signed up for the program. We checked other tutoring companies and they all offer refunds in this type of situation. As a result, we think TTP has been very unethical and misleading in their dealings with us and we strongly encourage parents to consider other tutoring services for their children.


Wow!

A couple of other folks would probably give him a negative review.

United Healthcare Insurance had to take him to court and won.

ROSS BLANKENSHIP
Address: 4821 UPTON ST NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20016-2347 (DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA COUNTY)
Filing County: District of Columbia
Plaintiff: UNITED HEALTHCARE INSURANCE CO
Court Case Number: 050200253702015
Total Judgment Amount: $1,689
Deed Category Type: Placement
Damar Document Type: Judgment

Farbod Abedini also beat Ross in court.

ROSS D BLANKENSHIP
Address: 2501 WISCONSIN AVE NW APT 307, WASHINGTON, DC 20007-4543 (DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA COUNTY)
Filing County: District of Columbia
Plaintiff: FARBOD ABEDINI
Court Case Number: 060200178542016
Total Judgment Amount: $3,784
Deed Category Type: Placement
Damar Document Type: Judgment

Based on all the public information, tips I’ve received, and experience with Ross Blankenship, based on all the negative Ross Blankenship Reviews, I’d have to say, this is not a guy with whom I’d want to associate. I’d never do business with this scammy fraud. You now have my Ross Blankenship reviews.